Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The College Libraries are now open to the HCCC community -

https://library.hccc.edu/reopening

Psychology Learning Community

Articles

In order to use the resources listed below from off-campus, you will need to use your Canvas log-in information.

 

 

When beginning your research, you may want to consult a specialized encyclopedia. Specialized encyclopedias can provide with an overview of the particular topic you have chosen. If you are still searching for a topic or need to narrow it down further, browsing this type of resource can aid in this process. The Gale Virtual Reference Library contains encylopedia articles on a variety of topics in several disciplines, including psychology and the social sciences in general.

EBSCOHost Databases --Databases containing magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles from a variety of sources.  Some databases within EBSCOHost are general, but many are discipline-specific.  The following databases are relevant to the field of psychology:

If you are specifically looking for peer-reviewed articles for your research and choose to search the Academic Search Elite, MasterFILE Elite, or PsycARTICLES database, you have the option of limiting your results to only peer-reviewed sources. To do so, check off the box on the home screen that says "Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals". 

 

If you are researching a controversial topic in psychology, you may want to consult the following two resources, which relate to controversial issues in a variety of subject areas.

 Opposing Viewpoints in Context

 Points of View

LexisNexis Academic--Contains newspapers articles from all over the world. Some coverage goes back as far as 10-15 years, depending on the title. Students can either search for psychology-related articles within the entire contents of the database, or they may also limit their search to the New York Times Science section. This often features psychology articles, as well as articles relating to hard science. (Requires remote log-in accessing off-campus. 

 

If you wish to view tutorials that can aid you in navigating these databases, click any of the links provided below:

Points of View: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cymUHTsF75k&list=PLdvkVDao3gqzBMJMG8n-9vQRqXy4u55hf&index=4

EBSCOHost: Coming Soon