Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Welcome to 2022 Fall!

We are very excited to see new and familiar faces back on campus!

English 102: Preventing Childhood Obesity

Articles

In order to access the resources listed below from off-campus, you will need to log in using your Canvas credentials.

 Gale Virtual Reference Library logo

When beginning your research, you may want to consult a specialized encyclopedia. Specialized encyclopedias can provide with an overview of the particular topic you have chosen. If you are still searching for a topic or need to narrow it down further, browsing this type of resource can aid in this process. The Gale Virtual Reference Library contains encylopedia articles on a variety of topics in several disciplines, including economics and the social sciences in general.

 

EBSCOhost logo

 EBSCOHost Databases --Databases containing magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles from a variety of sources. Some databases within EBSCOHost are general, but many are discipline-specific. The following descriptions provide further information about EBSCOHost databases relevant to the topic of preventing childhood obesity.

Databases covering all subjects

Relevant subject-specific databases

If you are specifically looking for peer-reviewed articles for your research and choose to search the EBSCOHost databases, you have the option of limiting your results to only peer-reviewed sources. To do so, check off the box on the home screen that says "Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals". 

 

CQ Researcher logo

CQ Researcher Online--contains lengthy reports on controversial issues

 

For short viewpoint essays on a variety of controversial topics, you may want to try...

 Opposing Viewpoints in Context logo

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

 OR

 Points of View Reference Center logo

Points of View

 

 

LexisNexis logo

LexisNexis Academic--features newspaper articles from around the world dating back as far as the past 10-15 years

ScienceDirect logo


ScienceDirect--features scholarly journal articles relating to science and health

 

If you wish to view tutorials that can aid you in navigating these databases, click on the link provided below:

https://library.hccc.edu/srch.php?q=video+tutorial&t=0