HCCC Libraries: Latino Studies: Streaming Videos & DVDs

21st Century Trends in Latin American Literature
This program profiles the careers and the potential of literary artists at the forefront of the region’s emerging narrative trends.
Conquest and Colony
The diaries of Columbus, Bartolomé de las Casas’ History of the Indies, Bernal Díaz’ True History of the Conquest of New Spain, and Bernardino de Sahagún’s Florentine Codex are explored along with works from indigenous authors of the early colonial period
A History of Hispanic Achievement in America
In this series, eight half-hour shows chronicle the story of Hispanic Americans and their culture,
The Latin American Boom
This program surveys the artistic phenomenon, manifested most notably in magical realism, that came to be known as the Latin American Boom.
Modernismo
The achievements of Ruben Dario, Jose Marti, Manuel Gutierrez Najera, Jose Asuncion Silva, and other seminal writers are examined, along with the external influences of the Symbolists and the Parnassian Poets.
Regionalism and Indigenism
The concept of novelas de la tierra or “novels of the land” is addressed, as are the writings of Alcides Arguedas, Horacio Quiroga, José Eustasio Rivera, Rómulo Gallegos, Martín Luis Guzmán, Gregorio López Fuentes, Rafael Muñoz, Nelly Campobello, and numerous others.
El Teatro Campesino (The Farm Worker’s Teatre) Online Video Collection
This collection of 118 videos provides “streaming video” access to “El Teatro Campesino’s” recorded performances. The collection resides at the California Ethnic and Multicultural Archives (CEMA) at UCSB.

Library Streaming Video Collections

Streaming Video Collections @the Library

Academic Video Online (AVON)
Kanopy
Films on Demand
Swank Digital Campus

Latino Studies

Library Streaming Video Collections

Gabert Library

NHC Library