Skip to main content

The College Libraries are now open to the HCCC community -

https://library.hccc.edu/reopening

Microbiology

Databases for Microbiology

  • Ebsco Databases
    A collection of databases which can be searched simultaneously. Subjects include health, medicine, science, business, education, art, literature, news, and more.
    • Academic Search Complete 
      Our most comprehensive EBSCO database covering humanities and sciences, including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, trade publications, books, book reviews, and more.
    • Biomedical Reference Collection: Comprehensive 
      Designed for doctors, research scientists, students, clinical specialists and managers, this database provides nearly 900 full text journals, including nearly 850 peer-reviewed publications, covering virtually all areas of medical study.
  • Nature
    International, weekly, peer-reviewed journal for scientific research.
  • PubMed
    From the National Library of Medicine/National Center for Biotechnology Information, PubMed comprises citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books, some linking to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites; MEsH Database included.
  • Science Direct
    A scientific database offering science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) journal articles and book chapters. (Make sure to click on "Subscribed journals" to limit to full text articles.)
  • Science Online
    Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive essays, videos, diagrams, definitions, biographies, and experiments.
  • Anatomy TV
  • Medically accurate 3D images, movies, and animation of parts of the human anatomy. 

Anatomy TV Video Tutorials - Primal Pictures 3D

1. Atlas of Human Anatomy

2. Functional Anatomy

3. Real Time

Access from Off-Campus

HCCC students, faculty, and staff have off-campus access to our library's online resources, including online journals, books, databases, etc. 

EZProxy is the tool to authenticate our library users from off-campus. It will prompt you to log in with your HCCC credentials and then grant you access to the needed resource

Two steps to connect from off-campus:

1. Click any database link in library Databases A-Z page. For example, Academic Search Complete.

2. Log in with your HCCC credentials (the same username and password for your HCCC email and portal page).

After successful authentication, you should have access to our library resources immediately.

If you encounter any access issue, please contact us (Email: jyang@hccc.edu, lsanchez@hccc.edu, and cchavarria@hccc.edu).