Information for Faculty: Home

Current HCCC  faculty and staff have full access to our libraries online resources, both on-campus and off-campus. HCCC credentials are required for off-campus access. More information is available at our Off-Campus Access page.

Here are some quick links for searching and using information:

• Library Video Tutorials
• Using Library Resources in Canvas
• Library Catalog: find books, ebooks, DVDs, streaming videos and technical items.
• eBooks Collection: a list of library databases for electronic books.
• Journal Finder: find a particular journal, magazine or newspaper.
• Streaming Videos: a list of library databases for streaming videos.
• Databases A-Z: a complete list of library subscribed databases, organized alphabetically.
• Research Guides: librarian curated resource guides for a subject, topic or course.
• Google Scholar: searches across a wide range of scholarly literature, including articles, books, theses, conference papers, and technical reports. To access full text available through HCCC Library, click “Full-Text @ HCCC Library” in the result page.

If you have any questions, please contact our librarians. We'd be happy to help!

• Online Chat: Click  
• Email: librarian@hccc.edu
• Submit a Question Online
• Schedule a Research Consultation

Hudson County Community College faculty and staff may:

• borrow books and DVDs for the semester.
• borrow one Reserve item and an associated workbook or manual  for up to 2 hours, which may be renewed if no one else is waiting.
• Reference works or periodicals are not available for circulation, in-library use only
• all materials must be returned by the end of the semester.

Please note:

• A current HCCC photo I.D. card with the semester sticker must be presented.
• You can keep track of your borrowings via your Koha account.

For more information, please visit our Borrow/Renew/Return page.

VALE Reciprocal Borrowing program

HCCC participates in the VALE Reciprocal Borrowing program. Faculty and staff who complete this form and submit it to Libraries staff at either campus may borrow books onsite from any of the forty-seven participating libraries throughout New Jersey.

The HCCC Libraries invite faculty, and staff to suggest books and videos to be added to our collection.

Send us your favorite book & film suggestions

Your suggestions will help us develop our library collections.

Librarians would like to help you find quality Open Education Resources for teaching and learning.

     Open Education Resources Guide

If you need any assistance with finding and adopting OER, please ask a librarian librarian@hccc.edu

Our Libraries have Course Reserves collection that provides onsite access to textbooks and course-related materials for students. Please kindly inform us if your adopted textbooks are not in our Course Reserves list.

Course Reserves Location: 

• Gabert Library- Reserve Desk on the 1st floor of Gabert Library;  
• North Hudson Library - Library Service Desk on the 3rd floor.

Contact Information:

• Gabert Library at (201) 360-4369, librarian@hccc.edu
• North Hudson Library at (201) 360-4605, librarynhc@hccc.edu

More information is available at our Course Reserves page.

HCCC Library E-Reserves
HCCC Course Reserves Request Form

Librarians teach classes on the use of print and online resources, including Noodletools, the Library citation generator. Classes are tailored to meet the needs of classes and specific class assignments. At Gabert Library, classes are held in L319. At the North Hudson Campus, location will vary depending upon availability of computer lab space. 

Instructors must be present for the instruction session. To invite a librarian to your class, please complete the request form below.

HCCC Library Instruction Request Form

Upon receiving the request, a librarian will reach out to you and provide the selected type of instruction to your students.

Our librarians have created resource guides on a variety of subjects to assist your students in finding valid sources.

If you’re interested in customizing a guide for your students, please contact our librarians. We are happy to work with you to create a guide that corresponds to your class's learning objectives and assignments. 

To request a Course Guide or get more information, please contact the Academic Liaisons.

Our librarians look forward to working with our faculty to support research and teaching at Hudson County Community College.

Schedule a 1 on 1 research consultation with one of our librarians. 

• Library Upcoming Events

For more information on library events, please contact Tim Moore (tdmoore@hccc.edu).

The HCCC MakerSpace is a space for you to show your creative side, share interests and ideas with peers, and work on group projects with the provided devices and equipment.

It is open to all current HCCC students, faculty, staff and alumni. Visitors may not use the Makerspace unless otherwise noted.

What is in the MakerSpace:

• 3D printers;
• VR (Virtual Reality) headsets;
• STEM kits;
• Video games (Nintendo Wii U and Switch);
• Button makers;
• Assorted craft items, like paints, markers, craft papers, etc.

For more information on the MakerSpace, please visit our MakerSpace page.

To make an appointment, please send an email to the tech team library@hccc.edu or make an appointment online at hccclibrary.libcal.com/appointments/tech. We'll get back to you soon.

To share a library-subscribed resource with your students, please make sure the link is persistent and proxied. This can help students avoid login issues.

Add this proxy prefix before the persistent link, if the URL doesn't contain ezproxy.hccc.edu: 
https://ezproxy.hccc.edu/login?url=

For example, you'd like to share a journal article with link https://www.jstor.org/stable/23353501

Then the link to share will be https://ezproxy.hccc.edu/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/23353501

Find more information, see our library guide Using Library Resources in Canvas.