A selection of the books we hold on the subject of cannabis. For a more complete list, click here to search our catalog.
The Business of Cannabis by
What happens when corporate culture takes over counterculture? This book explores the contradictions present within the cannabis industry from a business and policy perspective. Despite the unique culture surrounding cannabis, this new industry follows the same economic principles as does any other agricultural product--that is, it would if the federal government allowed it to. Four distinct challenges prevent the cannabis industry from becoming fully legal and federally regulated in the United States, equivalent to the alcohol, pharmaceutical, or tobacco industries: federal regulations counter to state laws, an unfriendly financial system, a U.S. attorney general bent on keeping the drug war running, and Prohibition's 70-year-old legacy of distrust between legalization advocates and opponents. Policy, however, is changing. Already the world's most heavily consumed illicit drug is in the midst of an international transformation. Globally, a new international trade market has emerged from efforts to legalize it for medical or recreational use, and in the United States, the nascent cannabis industry has acquired lobbyists, well-financed industry kingpins, an extensive ancillary industry, and taxation. The Business of Cannabis explores these issues in depth and contextualizes U.S. drug policy at a time when lawmakers across the nation are deciding which way to lean on the issue. Treats the new and growing cannabis industry in the context of more established ones, such as the alcohol, pharmaceutical, and tobacco industries Collects experiences and experiments from all of the regions, states, and municipalities in which marijuana has been legalized Explains how federal regulations or lack thereof (e.g., lack of access to banking) affect the industry Explores the interactions of federal, state, and local laws Sheds light on the evolution of public policy on legalized marijuana
Cannabis Cuisine by
"The go-to private chef for cannabinated celebrities and weed lovers . . . is using marijuana to take gourmet dining to a higher level." --LA Weekly A Forbes "The Best Cannabis Cookbooks" Selection In her cookbook, chef and author Andrea Drummer guides home cooks through an adventure of the palette. Chef Drummer is a firm believer that the food always comes first. Cannabis Cuisine is about the art of marijuana as an ingredient. It's more than a cannabis cookbook. Like a fine wine, cannabis is meant to be paired according to its unique profile. With every dish, she looks to the textures, flavors and scents of the bud before masterfully pairing it with ingredients that transcend the dish. The culinary arts and science of responsible dosage are presented in a way that treats cannabis as one of the best ingredients in the world to cook with. Every item she prepares incorporates the flavor profile of the strain that she is using with what is being prepared, thus the cannabis is just as important as any other ingredient. Never before have recipes been presented like this. From the comforts of southern kitchens to the upscale stoves of Michelin star restaurants, each recipe is carefully crafted to elevate both the dish and the cook. In this book, you'll learn: The basics of pairing buds How to create unique butters and oils to incorporate in every meal Tips for elevating breakfast, lunch and dinner The secret of marijuana as a flavor powerhouse How to properly dose cannabis infused cuisine "Not only is her food out-of-this-world amazing, but her attention to detail is truly unique." --PopSugar
Cannabis Grower's Handbook by
Ed Rosenthal's Cannabis Grower's Handbook is the definitive guide for all cultivators - from first-time home growers to experienced large-scale commercial cannabis operators. It breaks down the fundamentals of marijuana cultivation and demonstrates their practical applications in gardens of any size. Learn new techniques to maximise yield and efficiency and to grow bigger, more potent resinous buds.
Cannabiz by
Cannabiz tells one the most important political and business stories of our generation: the transformation of a counterculture movement into a growth industry with staggering potential. Charting the rise of medical marijuana in California and 14 other states, award-winning journalist John Geluardi vividly recounts the movement's early activism, its legal challenges and victories, and its emergence as a commercial and political force. Tracing the history of marijuana in the United States, Cannabiz also reports on the industry's key players, political allies and opponents, internal strife, and audacious aspirations--including a 2010 ballot initiative to legalize the adult use of marijuana in California. Along the way, Geluardi describes local efforts to regulate dispensaries, ranging from workable ordinances in some cities to bureaucratic paralysis in Los Angeles, where dispensaries came to outnumber McDonalds franchises. He also reports on efforts in Humboldt County, the heartland of marijuana cultivation, to keep pot illegal--and prices high. Adroitly profiling this unique industry, Cannabiz tells a distinctively American story--one whose colorful characters and fascinating details evoke Prohibition and the Gold Rush.
Grass Roots by
How earnest hippies, frightened parents, suffering patients, and other ordinary Americans went to war over marijuana In the last five years, eight states have legalized recreational marijuana. To many, continued progress seems certain. But pot was on a similar trajectory forty years ago, only to encounter a fierce backlash. In Grass Roots, historian Emily Dufton tells the remarkable story of marijuana's crooked path from acceptance to demonization and back again, and of the thousands of grassroots activists who made changing marijuana laws their life's work. During the 1970s, pro-pot campaigners with roots in the counterculture secured the drug's decriminalization in a dozen states. Soon, though, concerned parents began to mobilize; finding a champion in Nancy Reagan, they transformed pot into a national scourge and helped to pave the way for an aggressive war on drugs. Chastened marijuana advocates retooled their message, promoting pot as a medical necessity and eventually declaring legalization a matter of racial justice. For the moment, these activists are succeeding -- but marijuana's history suggests how swiftly another counterrevolution could unfold.
Joint Tenancies by
Joint Tenancies remains the only work inviting careful thought about the commercial landlord's riskand reward scenarios in leasing to marijuana businesses. The book gives the prospective tenant a valuable background in how to coordinate with potential landlords to address concerns about the occupancy of these businesses.This book is not intended as legal advice it instead seeks to teach readers about issues to take to heart in the Cannabis industry real estate leasing process.
Legalizing Marijuana by
This book is a frontal assault on the federal government's almost century-long campaign against marijuana in all its forms--cultivation, growing, selling, and recreational and medicinal use. Beginning with the anti-pot campaign of the first unofficial drug czar, Harry Anslinger, in the 1930s and continuing wiht only minor differences in emphasis through the recent Reagan, Clinton, and two Bush administrations, federal efforts to stamp out every form of marijuana use involve ignoring the independent reports of numerous federal commissions; supporting provably false claims about marijuana's effects; acquiescing to conservative law enforcement and religious groups' condemnatory agendas; generating a climate of fear in the electorate in order to cultivate messianic images for politicians; and ultimately governing in a way that does a disservice to all involved.
Pot Politics by
Marijuana use continues to attract interest and fuel controversy. Big, green pot leaves have adorned the covers of Time, National Review, and Forbes. Almost 100 million Americans have tried marijuana at least once. Groups such as The National Organization for the Reform of Marijuana (NORML) and The Marijuana Policy Project (MPP) have tens of thousands of members. Polls suggest that 70-80% of Americans support medicinal marijuana. At least 11 U.S. states have experimented with decriminalization and medical marijuana laws, with new initiatives appearing each year. Meanwhile, other groups such as Partnership for a Drug Free America and Mothers Against Drugs protest legalization. Clearly, debate about marijuana policy shows no sign of abating. In his earlier book, Understanding Marijuana, Mitch Earleywine forced researchers, policy makers, and citizens to avoid oversimplification, separate empirical findings from their interpretations, and understand that some things may be neither good nor evil. Pot Politics continues with these same themes, showing multiple perspectives from a variety of experts on an important problem with vast implications. The volume presents ethical, religious, economic, psychological, and political arguments for cannabis policies that range from prohibition to unrestricted legalization. By presenting a unique perspective on overlapping issues, each chapter demonstrates how even recognized experts draw markedly different conclusions from the same data. Some contributors evaluate policy by weighing the costs and benefits of control while others eschew policy by presenting moral arguments against our attempts at control. Pot Politics should be read by everyone interested in the politics of both marijuana use and governmental regulation of our actions.
Sacred Bliss by
One of the most important relationships that human beings have with plants is changing our consciousness--consider the plants that give us coffee, tea, chocolate, and nicotine. Sacred Bliss challenges traditional attitudes about cannabis by tracing its essential role in the spiritual and curative traditions in Asia, the Middle East, Africa, Europe, and the Americas from prehistory to the present day. In highlighting the continued use of cannabis around the globe, Sacred Bliss offers compelling evidence of cannabis as an entheogen used for thousands of years to evoke peak-experiences, or moments of expanded perception or spiritual awareness. Today, the growing utilization of medical cannabis to alleviate the pain and symptoms of physical illness raises the possibility of using cannabis to treat the mind along with the body. By engaging sacred and secular texts from around the world, Sacred Bliss demonstrates that throughout religious history, cannabis has offered access to increased imagination and creativity, heightened perspective and insight, and deeper levels of thought.
Below is a selection of some of the databases you can use to do research on subjects relating to cannabis. To find more databases, please look to the database by subject list on the library homepage.
Databases dedicated to cannabis:
Cannabis NewsBank is a specialized resource to explore and research the developments and history of the fast-growing cannabis industry. This unique collection delivers unmatched local, national and global coverage from more than 12,000 sources, including many cannabis-specific publications such as High Times.
The business of Cannabis:
Full text content in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Provides access to articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals, trade journals and business news publications. Includes the full-text of the Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times and the Economist. Also has videos, ebooks, and company, industry, and country reports from providers such as Fitch Solutions and Economist Intelligence Unit, and analyst reports from J.P. Morgan.
Full text newswire database that incorporates business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas of the U.S.
Search this database to learn how to start, finance or manage a small business. Resources include sample business plans.
The law and legal articles pertaining to cannabis:
HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more.
Below, find free websites with information that could be helpful to your research.
Please remember:
Even though the library is providing a link to these sites, it is unlikely that your professor will count them as a "scholarly source." If this is a guideline you need to meet for your assignment, please check with them before using any of these sites as a source.
