Cannabis

Before we get to some search terms that might be helpful for research, let's review some research basics to help you explore the databases.

If you're a database pro, feel free to jump to the search terms using the link on the left.

Using the databases is a bit different from using search engines like Google. For one, the databases don't understand natural language, or the way we speak to each other, the way Google does. For another, we need a pretty good idea of what we're looking for before we search the databases, where as we can usually find our way around to a topic with Google.

So why do we bother with the databases?

Google searches much of the internet to give us millions of results for our search (many of which are hardly related to our search at all). The databases, though, are specially curated by the HCCC librarians, resulting in searches that more closely match our needs (if we use the right search terms). What's more, the library pays for access to those peer-reviewed and academic journal articles that your professor wants you to use.

When coming up with search terms, don't be afraid to think outside the box. Some things to consider:

• What type of information are you looking for? Do you want news articles about dispensaries opening? A report about how taxes on cannabis sales have been put to use? A peer-reviewed article on the effects of cannabis use? How will the type of information you're looking for change the vocabulary you might use?
• What time period are you looking for information from? Are you looking for an article written in the 1950s or 1960s to use as a point of comparison? What terms were used then that might not be used today?
• How many related terms can you think of for your search? Are there any that are slightly closer to what you're really looking for than others? Consider starting with those first.

Once you have your search terms figured out, here are a few other things to consider:

• Put phrases in quotes. Putting phrases in quotes tells the database that you want these terms together, in this order. Not using quotes tells the database that you just want these terms, not necessarily in relation to each other. For example, searching medical cannabis in OneSearch gives us 153,034 results. Searching "medical cannabis" in OneSearch gives us 39,651 results, suggesting it's a more precise result.
• Combine search terms using Boolean Operators to create more complex searches.
  • Using AND will tell the database that you want results with both of the search terms on either side of the operator. For example, in the Venn diagram below, our search of This AND That will give us the middle portion, just the results that contain both terms.
    
  • Using OR will tell the database that you want results with either term included. In the Venn diagram below, we would get all of the results in both circles and in the overlapping space.
    
  • Using NOT will tell the database that you want the results from the first term, but that you want everything containing the second term to be removed. In the Venn diagram below, a search of This NOT That would give you only the results from the blue This circle, not anything from the red That circle and not anything from the overlapping space.
    

Below are some search terms and phrases used by some of our databases. Using the terms the database uses will help you get better, more precise search results.

Also consider how you can combine these terms (and others) to create a more complex search to find what you're looking for. For example, if you are interested in resources exploring how cannabis prohibition affected the use of hemp, you could try the following search:

• "marijuana laws" AND hemp

That said, here are the terms:

• cannabidiol 
• cannabinoids 
• cannabis
• cannabis (genus)*
• cannabis (plant)*
• cannabis edibles
• cannabis products
• cooking (marijuana)*
• hashish**
• hemp
• marihuana**
• marijuana
• marijuana abuse
• marijuana dispensaries
• marijuana growing
• marijuana industry
• marijuana laws
• marijuana legalization
• marijuana smoke
• medical marijuana
• synthetic marijuana
• terpenes***
• tetrahydrocannabinol 

* These terms don't need to be put in quotes if you use the parentheses. If you exclude the parentheses, then use quotes.
** Outdated term or spelling, best used for looking up historical information.
*** For better specificity, use the name of the specific terpene or terpenes that you are looking for.

If you are an advanced researcher, or would just like to experiment with some more advanced searching techniques, click here.