HCCC Libraries: SOC 201 Sociology of the Family: Background

Sociology Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Search articles, biographies, videos, images, and web sites. Also includes the Merriam-Webster dictionary.

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
The International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences contains nearly 3,000 new articles contributed by thousands of international scholars and several Nobel Prize winners. This new edition is essential to research and study in the disciplines of sociology, political science, economics, anthropology, psychology, and other fields.
Encyclopedia of Sociology
This classic reference provides articles covering core issues such as race, poverty, violence, economics, pregnancy and abortion.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology
his resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information.

Encyclopedia of Social Work This link opens in a new window
This is a collaboration between the National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press. Provides over 800 overview articles, on key topics, including addictions and substance use, aging and older adults, children and adolescents, couples and families, gender and sexuality, poverty, and race, ethnicity, and culture.

Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood: In History and Society
Examines the social and cultural history of childhood from antiquity to the present through articles on education, parenting, child labor, economics, images of childhood, children's literature, play, toys and games, health, physiology, law, the criminal justice system and social welfare.
Encyclopedia of Motherhood
Provides information on the central terms, concepts, topics, issues, themes, debates, theories, and texts and examines the topic of motherhood in various contexts such as history and geography and by academic discipline.
Family Violence in the United States: Defining, Understanding, and Combating Abuse
This volume presents definitions of key terminology, predictors, and consequences of different forms of maltreatment. It examines larger social systems that can contribute to abuse, as well as community, relationship, and individual predictors of both perpetration and victimization.
Profiling and Criminal Justice in America: A Reference Handbook
This book examines the history behind racial, gender, and religious profiling, charts its guiding philosophies, surveys supporting legal doctrines and legislation, and presents the arguments pro and con.
Substance Abuse: A Reference Handbook
This book provides a detailed discussion of the history of substance abuse, covers the classification of drugs, explains how drugs work in the body, includes a general survey of both legal and illegal drugs, and describes the methods of substance abuse prevention and treatment.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Covers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa. Each volume is organized by continent, covering history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life, and more.

SOC 201 Sociology of the Family

Sociology Encyclopedias

Gabert Library

NHC Library