HCCC Libraries: Environmental Issues: Print Books @the Library

Click here to find the most recent BOOKS about Environmental Issues @the Library . . .

Or search the Library's eBook Collections below.

ABC-CLIO eBook Collection
Handbooks, guides, encyclopedias, and dictionaries from ABC-CLIO, Greenwood Press,
dealing with history, current events, literature, and more.
EBSCO eBook CollectionA multidisciplinary database of ebooks browsable by subject
category or searchable with key terms.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of electronic reference books for multidisciplinary research, mostly consisting
of subject specific encyclopedias.
Infobase eBook Collection
Web-based versions of Infobase Publishing’s academic print reference books.
Serial Solutions eBooks
Serial Solution accesses the eBooks from the library databases to allow an eBook only search.

Cover of Brave New Arctic: The Untold Story of the Melting North. Cover of the Arctic with some parts melted

Cover of Can a City Be Sustainable? Illustration of a city with buildings, roads, trains, and cars.

Cover of Global Viewpoints Geoengineering: Counteracting Climate Change. Cover of the space with a part of Earth in one corner and a giant circular mirror in front of the sun. The mirror has an ocean and sky reflection.

Cover of Coal: A Human History. Black background with hands folded together in center.

Cover of Environmental Policy and Politics. Park view with grass and trees and building in the background.

Developing Ecological Consciousness
Standard environmental studies texts strongly focused on actions that humans need to take to fix the environment. Christopher Uhl explores the path to living in harmony with Earth, and believes it begins - not with fixing the environment - but with fixing ourselves - specifically our perceptions about Earth.
more...less...
QH541.U44 2013 Stacks
Resilience Practice : Building Capacity to Absorb Disturbance and Maintain Function
As the natural systems that sustain us are subjected to shock after shock, how much can they take and still deliver the services we need from them? This idea caught the attention of both the scientific community and the general public. Authors Brian Walker and David Salt take the notion of resilience one step further, applying resilience thinking to real-world situations and exploring how systems can be managed to promote and sustain resilience.
more...less...
HC59.15.W348 2012 Stacks
The Rise of the U.S. Environmental Health Movement
This is the first book to offer a comprehensive examination of the Environmental Health Movement, which unlike many parts of the environmental movement, focuses on ways toxic chemicals and other hazardous agents in the environment effect human health and well-being.
more...less...
RA566.3.D38 2013 Stacks

eBooks

Climate Change and Security : A Gathering Storm of Global Challenges

Alarms about the expanding role of climate change as a force multiplier of existing threats to national, international, and human security structures studies are being raised at all levels of governance and intelligence—national, transnational, and private.

Encyclopedia of Global Change
- add to group
- edit
- remove
Encompassing tsunamis, elephant conservation, ocean pollution, mining regulation, and permafrost melt, the 300 authoritative articles in this unique and wide-ranging encyclopedia investigate all types of phenomena that change life on Earth. The entries cover a range of general research categories: altered ecosystems, climate change, food and water supply, population, politics and global change, institutions and policies, biographies, and case studies.
Environmental Science : In Context
- add to group
- edit
- remove
This resource presents essential facts and cultural connections of topics and issues related to the scientific study of the environment and its impact on humanity. Approximately 250 articles appear alphabetically, from Acid rain to Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution.
Environmental Sociology
- add to group
- edit
- remove
European environmental sociology has changed considerably in the last decades towards more interdisciplinary collaborations and problem solving. Current trends such as global environmental modernization and processes of economic, political and socio-cultural globalization, fuelled by developments of transport, environmental flows, scientific uncertainty, and information technologies, have fostered new conceptual approaches that move beyond classical sociological mind-sets toward broader attempts to connect to other disciplines.
Glaciers, Sea Ice, and Ice Formation
- add to group
- edit
- remove
This book explores permafrost, glaciers, icebergs and other ice formations and the effects they have on the environment.
The Water Environment of Cities
- add to group
- edit
- remove
Urbanization of the Earth's population will have increased the Earth's urban population from less than one billion in 1950 to five billion by 2030. Managing water for this burgeoning urban population is one of the critical needs for humanity. This book uses a holistic, interdisciplinary approach to examine the urban water environment.

Environmental Issues

Gabert Library

NHC Library