Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The College Libraries are now open to the HCCC community -

https://library.hccc.edu/reopening

Primary Sources

America at Work, America at Leisure: Motion Pictures from 1894-1915
Work, school, and leisure activities in the United States from 1894 to 1915 are featured in this presentation of 150 motion pictures.

American Memory - Historical Collections for the National Digital Library 
Primary source and archival materials covering topics such as art and architecture, performing arts, technology and applied sciences.

Granger - Historical Picture Archive
Images from prehistoric times through the recent past, including millions of engravings, photographs, lithographs, and many other forms of illustration. 

Life Photo Archive 
Searchable collection of classic pictures from Life Magazine's archives.

Primary Source Set
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) Primary Source Sets explore topics in history, literature, and culture through primary sources. From libraries, archives, and museums, the sets use letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, and more.

The National Archive Experience Digital Vault 
Images of photos, documents, and how they relate to each other. An interesting presentation for subjects ranging from the Civil War to Inventions.

New York Public Library Digital Collections
Over 800,000 images digitized from the New York Public Library's collections, including historical maps, vintage posters, photographs, and more.

_______________________________________________________________________

History Channel Speech Archives 
Online audio recordings of speeches and other addresses by international political leaders; on-site recordings of notable historic events.

Primary Source Set
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) Primary Source Sets explore topics in history, literature, and culture through primary sources. From libraries, archives, and museums, the sets use letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, and more.

Recorded Sound Reference Center
The Library of Congress provides access to a portion of its audio collections through the Recorded Sound Reference Center's web page, the American Memory site, The Performing Arts Encyclopedia and the American Folklife Center pages.