HCCC Libraries: Criminal Justice: Statistics & Polls

Taking Sides. Clashing Views in Crime and Criminology

Bureau of Justice Statistic
BJS mission: To collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders,

victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
Criminal Justice Statistics - Census
The U.S. Census Bureau acts as a data collection agent to provide statistical data on a range of topics

including probation, parole, inmate sexual violence, inmate deaths, criminal justice expenditures, and a

variety of facility data.
FBI - Crime Statistics
A series of statistical crime reports and publications, detailing specific offenses and outlining trends

that can help you better understand crime threats both nationally and locally.
National Crime Victimization Survey
Each year, data are obtained from a nationally representative sample of 76,000 households comprising

nearly 135,300 persons on the frequency, characteristics and consequences of criminal victimization in

the United States. It is a program of the Bureau of Justice Statistics.
NCJRS Abstracts Database
The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains more than 220,000 collection records for criminal justice,

juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Virtual Library collection.
Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention - Statistical Briefing Book
The OJJDP Statistical Briefing Book (SBB) enables users to access online information via OJJDP's

website to learn more about juvenile crime and victimization and about youth involved in the juvenile

justice system.
Uniform Crime Reporting
The UCR Program is a voluntary city, university and college, county, state, tribal, and federal law

enforcement program that provides a nationwide view of crime based on the submission of statistics

by law enforcement agencies throughout the country. Data is collected on known offenses and persons arrested.
United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime Statistics
Produces and disseminates accurate drug and crime statistics at the international level.

Criminal Justice

Gabert Library

NHC Library