Skip to Main Content
Visit HCCC.EDU
 My Account |  Library FAQs

LGBTQIA Resources

Search the Library Catalog

History

The Lesbian Herstory Archives http://www.lesbianherstoryarchives.org/
Collects and preserves materials that are relevant to the lives and experiences of lesbians. The archives are located in Brooklyn and the website offers virtual tours and digital video, audio, and photograph collections. 
 
The LGBT Community Center National History Archive https://gaycenter.org/archives 
The archive, part of New York City's The Center (https://gaycenter.org), contains various historical materials related to LGBT community history. The materials may be accessed by visiting The Center but an archive gallery and detailed listings of the collection are available online. 
 
OutHistory.org http://www.outhistory.org/ 
Compilation of documents, bibliographies, visual materials, oral histories, and timelines related to LGBT history. 

News & General Interest

Back 2 Stonewall http://www.back2stonewall.com
News, politics, activism, entertainment, science, sports, and technology commentary for the LGBT community. 

Huffington Post: Gay Voices http://www.huffingtonpost.com/gay-voices/ 
LGBT news, culture, opinions, and conversation. 

LGBTQ Nation http://www.lgbtqnation.com/
News coverage of USA and World headlines as well as entertainment, lifestyle, and sports. 

Queerty http://www.queerty.com/
News and entertainment for the LGBT community.

William Paterson University: Cheng Library LGBT Resources http://guides.wpunj.edu/LGBT
A comprehensive guide that includes resources for specific populations, information about LGBT issues, history, news, advocacy, and support.

 

Issues

GLBT National Help Center http://www.glnh.org 
Serves gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and questioning people by providing free and confidential peer support. The website includes information about contacting the phone hotline and online peer-support chat as well as links to their listing of over 15,000 local resources, www.GLBTnearme.org.

Human Rights Campaign: Healthcare Equality Index: For LGBT Patients http://www.hrc.org/hei/for-lgbt-patients
Health resources for LGBT patients including information about knowing your healthcare rights, getting insured, and finding an LGBT-friendly health provider.

National Center for Transgender Equality http://transequality.org/
A social justice and advocacy organization for transgender people. The website highlights the work of the organization in addition to providing information, news, and resources about various issues and rights of transgender people.

Rutgers School of Law LGBTQ Pro Bono Legal Assistance Project https://law.rutgers.edu/pro-bono-and-public-interest
Provides walk-in legal information, advice, and referrals for low-income members of the LGBTQ community in areas including family, housing, and employment law. Volunteer attorneys are available to provide guidance and legal referrals, but not legal representation. Consultations are held at Rutgers School of Law in Newark, NJ, on the third Wednesday of every month.

Community Organizations (NJ & NY)

The Center https://gaycenter.org/ 
Offers the LGBT community health and wellness programs; arts, entertainment, and cultural events; recovery, parenthood, and family support services; and community connections. 

Essex County LGBT Reaching Adolescents in Need (RAIN) Foundation http://essexlgbthousing.org/ 
An organization located in East Orange, NJ, that provides emergency shelter and services for LGBT youth experiencing crisis leading to homelessness. Their services include skill development that promotes self-sufficiency and mental health, substance, and medical services and referrals.

Garden State Equality http://www.gardenstateequality.org/ 
New Jersey's statewide advocacy and education organization for the LGBT community. 

Hudson Pride Connections Center http://hudsonpride.org/ 
A home for Hudson County's LGBTQ community and allies that advocates for the physical, mental, social, and political well-being of the community. Located in Journal Square, Hudson Pride includes computer access, career development assistance, HIV and AIDS support and prevention initiatives, social events, and diversity training and education. 
 
NJ Gay Life http://www.njgaylife.com/
A directory of events, businesses, and organizations across New Jersey. 
 
TRIP NJ https://www.tripnj.org/  A place to streamline resources and information to members of the trans+ community to increase accessibility.

GMHC http://gmhc.org/gmhc-services
Based in New York City, GMHC provides a range of programs and services for the LGBTQIA community related to health and wellness, legal services, and personal and professional development.
 

Community Organizations (Outside NJ & NY)

Hope United Methodist Church: https://www.behopechurch.org/ 
Based in Illinois, Hope believe that all people, regardless of sexual orientation, gender identity, racial background, economic standing, and stage of life, can experience the inherent love of God. As a church they strive for absolute authentic affirmation of all LGBTQIA+ people and are committed to learning to lead anti-racist lives.

Education

Campus Pride http://www.campuspride.org/ 
An online community that develops resources, programs, and services for students and campus groups to support LGBT and ally students on college campuses across the United States. 

Strengthening the Learning Environment: A School Employee’s Guide to Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, & Transgender Issues http://www.nea.org/assets/docs/glbtstrengthenlearningenvirong2006.pdf
A document developed by the National Education Association for education personnel to address the needs and challenges faced by GLBT students and employees.

Point Foundation http://www.pointfoundation.org/ 
The nation's largest scholarship-granting organization for LGBTQ students of merit. The Point Foundation offers scholarship funding, mentorship, leadership development, and community service training.