Mental Health & Community Services

Provides drug and alcohol assessment, treatment planning, individual and family counseling, group therapy (including relapse prevention, anger management, self-image improvement, personal issues therapy, grief and loss coping, and trauma support), referral to mutual-aid support groups such as Narcotics Anonymous (NA) and Alcoholics Anonymous (AA), and educational and employment readiness services.
Contact: 973-623-0600
NA Hotline – 800-922-0401
AA Hotline – 800-245-1377

Offers outpatient care in substance abuse treatment, detoxification, and methadone maintenance. Also offers services that including behavioral and blinical counseling, group and individual sessions, family conferences, positive alternative workshops, parenting skills workshops, and general well care services. Located in Jersey City (IOP/OP/OTP/Partial Care).
Contact: 201-451-5425

Provides outpatient substance abuse treatment for adults, particularly for those with a co-occurring disorder. Individual counseling and group sessions available. Other services available include the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center /DUI Education Program: 16 week program to support recovery and Project Second Chance: intensive outpatient program for women with open DCP&P cases.
Services offered at Bayonne Medical Center, Hoboken University Medical Center and Christ Hospital
Contact: 201-821-8900.

601 Broadway, Bayonne, NJ 07002
(201) 339-9200
Individual and group counseling, 12-step meetings, social and recreational activities, educational and vocational services, life skills training, primary health care, perinatal health care, a program for family members, relapse prevention services, and continuing care services such as child care, transportation and parenting skills development. (IOP/OP/OTP/Partial Care).

533 32nd St., Union City, NJ 07087
(201) 766-6617
Individual and group counseling, educational and vocational services, life skills training, a program for family members, referral to mutual-aid support groups such as Narcotics Anonymous (NA) and Alcoholics Anonymous (AA), relapse prevention services, a continuing care program and supportive services including transportation. (IOP/OP/OTP/Partial Care).

Helps women and their families in need of jobs, safety from domestic violence, freedom from substance abuse, and safe homes for children.
Contact: 201-333-5700

NJCASA is the statewide advocacy and capacity building organization that represents the twenty-one county-based rape crisis centers, and the Rutgers University Office of Violence Prevention and Victim Assistance. The website lists information for support services and groups by county.
Crisis Hotline: 800-601-7200
Contact: 609-631-4450

Promotes the economic independence of disadvantaged women and men by providing professional attire, a network of support and the career development tools to help women and men thrive in work and in life. Dress for Success provides interview outfits and guidance, leadership skills, job training, retention efforts, and a career center. Located at 591 Summit Avenue, Suite. 505 Jersey City, New Jersey
Contact: (201) 395-0202

Part of NJ Career Connections, a statewide resource for job seekers. The Hudson County One-Stop Career Center includes: job search assistance; training; assistance with filing for unemployment benefits; services for mature workers, youth, veterans, and ex-offenders; vocational rehabilitation services; and on-site resources such as telephones, computers and internet, and conference rooms. Located at 438 Summit Avenue, Jersey City, New Jersey 07306.
Hours: Monday - Friday 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Contact: 201-217-7008

Provides job training, career coaching, and assistance for job seekers including resume help and job search assistance. Other services included are: employment preparation workshops, recruitment events, computer training courses, and community resource referrals. Hours: Monday to Friday, from 9 AM to 5 PM
Contact: 201-333-5700 ext. 560/552

Oversees a wide range of employment-related programs and initiatives. Learn more about services related to job seekers, youth, and education on their website.
Contact: 201-420-3000 ext. 2636

JCETP helps the community through personal outreach services, workshops to prepare job seekers, intensive services for qualified customers, a variety of youth services to support both in-school youth needing summer employment & career guidance and out of school youth preparing to enter the workforce. Other services include assessment and testing, resume preparation, life skills, and a career resource center.
Contact: 201-795-8800

Addresses the needs of cost-burdened, income eligible Hudson County residents unable to afford household repairs and improvements that can reduce high energy bills. The website includes information on services and eligibility. Hours: Monday to Friday 9am-4pm
Contact: 844-722-6432
Questions? info@pacoagency.org

Payment assistance programs for customers struggling to pay their PSE&G energy bill.

List food assistance near you.

NJ SNAP, formerly Food Stamps, is New Jersey's Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program that can help low-income families buy the groceries they need to eat healthy. Eligibility depends on several factors like income, household size, resources, etc. The application is available online.
Contact: 1-800-687-9512

Federally qualified health center providing affordable healthcare, dental services, social services, and health education. Accept most insurances including Medicaid and Medicare, also offer sliding scale fee for those who do not have insurance.
Location in Jersey City: 115 Christopher Columbus Dr.
Suites 100 & 101
Jersey City, NJ 07302
Contact: 201-451-6300

Federally qualified health center providing internal medicine/primary care services, behavioral/mental health, women's health, pediatrics and dental services. An interdisciplinary team serving as a primary care medical home for all ages, accepting all insurances and individuals without insurance will be charged according to their ability to pay. Health Centers are located in West New York, Union City, North Bergen, Jersey City, Harrison, Englewood, Garfield, Hackensack, and Passaic; for locations and hours: https://nhcac.org/sites-locations/
Appointments: 201-210-0200
Weekend Hours Call: 201-866-9320

Health centers providing primary care services such as: immunizations, annual exams, blood screening, flu shots, infant care, women's health, chronic disease management, obstetrics, radiology, digestive health, cardiology, care for HIV patients. Neighborhood health centers provide medical care to individuals who are uninsured, underinsured and have Medicaid. Locations in: Bayonne, Jersey City, Hoboken, and Union City; for locations: https://www.carepointhealth.org/location/neighborhood-health-center-at-union-city/

HIV prevention for men and women HIV+ and HIV-, treatment education, adherence support and medical care access, legal services, a wellness program, and connections to counseling and testing. Hyacinth has a regional office is located at: 48 Fairview Ave. Jersey City, NJ 07304
Contact: (201) 432-1134

Provides alzheimer's and dementia resources, screenings, counseling, and wellness fairs. Two locations: 3167 John Fitzgerald Kennedy Boulevard, North Bergen, NJ 07047 and 830 Bergen Avenue Suite 8A; Jersey City, NJ 07306
Contact: 201-721-6721

Provides programs and services including wellness programs and family support groups.
Toll-free Helpline: 888-280-6055

Free HIV/STD Testing Services
The Counseling and Testing Site
1825 John F. Kennedy Blvd. 1st Floor
Jersey City, NJ
(201) 395-7600
Walk Ins Welcome

Homelessness and housing program for individuals and families throughout Hudson County. Assistance and referral provided for case management, housing and supportive services. Located at 514 Newark Ave., Jersey City, NJ 07306. Weekdays: 9am-4pm Tuesdays: 9am-2pm
Contact: 201-604-2600

Support services such as food, shelter, case management, counseling, job and life skills training, creative arts workshops, emergency homelessness prevention grants, & permanent supportive housing solutions. Located at 300 Bloomfield St., Hoboken
Contact: (201) 656-5069

Shelter for adults with separate sleeping areas for males and females. Day Program from 7am to 3pm offering individuals lunch and breakfast, access to showers, laundry, clothing and essential personal items. Referrals and help transitioning to permanent housing. Located at 111 37th St, Union City, NJ
Contact: 201-348-8150

Emergency shelter for single women and men providing two meals a day, clothing and a shower program. Determined by need, referrals provided include: welfare, SSI, unemployment, job training and job search, education and mental health and addiction treatment programs. Located at 619 Grove Street, Jersey City, NJ 07310
Contact: (201) 656-7201

Provides food, shelter, immediate crisis care, and other services to homeless, runaway, and trafficked youth between the ages of 18-21. There is an Outreach Program located at 797 Westside Avenue, Jersey City, NJ 07305 and locations in Newark and Atlantic City.
Contact: 973-621-8705

Transitional housing program for homeless women and their children (up to 18 years old). Mental health and family counseling offered on-site in addition to case management. St. Joseph's Home also provides a Transitional Life Skills Enrichment program addressing parenting skills, career planning, assistance with legal services, financial and household organization.
Contact: (201) 413-9280

Emergency shelter for women with children under the age of 18. Services offered include: three meals a day, assessment and planning, case management, housing, education, food, and clothing. Located at 246 Second Street, Jersey City, NJ 07302
Contact: (201) 420-1070

Programs include Tenant Based Rental Assistance (TRBA) to eligible persons living in Hudson County and tenant and landlord counseling.
Contact: 201-795-5615

A free, online searchable registry of affordable and accessible housing units throughout the State of New Jersey.
Toll-free Call Center: 877-428-8844

Provides assistance to those living and working in Hudson County who are eligible to apply for U.S. Citizenship, including Citizenship Preparation Classes. They also provide assistance to immigrants living in Hudson County who qualify to apply for the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA). Other services include green card renewals/replacements and public notary service. Located at: 830 Bergen Ave, Suite A401, Jersey City 07306
Contact: 201-209 2839

The Legal Services for Immigrants (LSI) program aims to provide affordable, quality legal representation for immigrants. CEUS legal staff takes the following cases: citizenship, family petitions, political asylum, work permits (NACARA, VAWA), domestic violence cases. In line with CEUS roots in the Central American community, the LSI program processes the work papers of more than 400 Salvadorans and Hondurans under the Temporary Protected Status each year. The program also organizes between six and eight community information meetings a year to inform immigrants of U.S. immigration laws and report on potential changes proposed or approved by Congress. Located at: 4214 John F. Kennedy Boulevard, Union City, NJ 07087
Contact: (201) 617-2466; info@ceusnj.org

The Immigration Assistance program provides assistance to clients with immigration needs by providing low-cost, fee-for-service legal assistance in all phases of immigration and naturalization proceedings, representation in deportation or exclusion proceedings before the Immigration Court, and assistance in any matter involving immigration and citizenship. Located at: 976 Broad Street, Newark, NJ 07102
Contact: (973) 733-3516

Provides legal representation to eligible low-income, disabled, and senior residents of Bergen, Hudson and Passaic Counties.
Contact: 201-792-6363

Assists Hudson County’s economically disadvantaged individuals and families – the working poor, seniors, veterans, and people with disabilities – by providing information, advice, and pro bono legal representation. They are also a HUD-certified housing counseling center and have a program for seniors to provide education and free legal representation related to the preparation of wills, powers of attorney, and health care directives.
Contact: 551-256-7578

Legal and advocacy services to New Jersey residents with disabilities. They serve consumers of mental health services, people with physical disabilities, HIV/AIDS, developmental disabilities, and visual impairments. Attorneys and advocates represent clients in matters involving Social Security benefits, Welfare, food stamps, and other entitlements; housing habitability and landlord-tenant disputes; foreclosure defense; consumer protection and debt collection; child support and domestic violence; Medicaid, Medicare, and other health insurance issues.
Contact: 201-630-6201

A home for Hudson County's LGBTQ community and allies that advocates for the physical, mental, social, and political well-being of the community. Hudson Pride includes career development assistance, HIV and AIDS support and prevention initiatives, social events, and diversity training and education. Beyond the Binary is a social platform for the transgender community. Located at: 176 Palisade Avenue, 3 East, Jersey City, NJ
Contact: 201-963-4779

Free confidential HIV testing, and helps o build positive social connections, supporting one another.

Located in Newark, HMI: New Jersey provides free year-round programs and services for LGTBQ youth between the ages 13-21. HMI: New Jersey provides youth who are at-risk of harassment, abuse, neglect, homelessness and disconnection with a safe, supportive environment in which to grow and thrive. Services include: counseling and case management, onsite pantry, outreach homeless services, and referrals for external services.
HMI: New Jersey serves youth from Essex, Hudson, Union and Middlesex counties and is the only LGBT organization contracted with the New Jersey Department of Child Protection and Permanency Department.
Contact: 973-722-5488

Vocational Rehabilitation services are designed to assist any individual with a physical, mental, cognitive, or other disability that significantly impedes employment. DVRS provides career counseling, supported employment, evaluations and restorations, financial assessment/planning, training, interpretation services, and small business funding.
The Hudson County field office is located at 438 Summit Avenue, Jersey City, NJ
Contact: 201-217-7180

Supports individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities in the community. Services include an employment program, after school program, adult evening care, and referrals.
Contact: 201-319-9229

The agency offers a range of education, training, and employment opportunities for youth with disabilities exiting school, adults with disabilities in its vocational rehabilitation programs, as well as community residents facing other barriers to employment. Located at: 68-70 Tuers Avenue, Jersey City, NJ
Contact: 201-434-3303; info@hce.works

Adult training program for developmentally disabled adults. Also provide supervised apartments for individuals with multiple physical and developmental challenges. HIGHWAYS is an additional program providing crisis intervention, emergency food pantry, thrift shop, job training, counseling, and life coaching. Located at: 141 Broadway, Bayonne, NJ
Contact: (201) 858-4460; info@windmillalliance.org

St. Joseph's School for the Blind provides specialized services to individuals with visual impairments across New Jersey. Founded by the Sisters of St. Joseph of Peace, the school is comprised of several programs, such as: Early Intervention, In District Support Services, School for the Blind, Adult Services and Concordia Learning Center. St. Joseph's is located in Jersey City.
Contact: 201-876-5432

Helps women and their families experiencing domestic violence with emergency shelter, crisis intervention, referrals, counseling, support groups, assistance with legal rights, restraining orders and court accompaniment., and job training.
Contact: 201-333-5700

Provides services and food vouchers to pregnant, breastfeeding, and postpartum women, infants, and children up to five years old free of charge to eligible local residents. Benefits and services include: nutrition education and counseling, funds for approved nutritious food, breastfeeding education and support, immunization screening and referrals, and referrals for health and social services. Based on a client's nutritional needs, foods may be authorized for purchase including: baby food, infant formula, milk, eggs, bread, cheese, juice, fruits, and vegetables.
Hudson County locations: 199 Summit Ave. Suite A2, Jersey City, NJ; (201) 547-6842
407 39th Street, Union City, NJ; (201) 866-4700; https://nhcac.org/women-infants-and-children-wic/
Harrison: 862-229-1130 call for an appointment
Kearny: 862-229-1130 call for an appointment.

Shelter and supportive services for homeless, expectant, and new mothers and their children. Provides necessities such as food and diapers; training in nutrition, budgeting, vocational, and parenting skills; and day care services. Referral program for post-abortive parents offering counseling and peer groups (877-586-4621)
Located in Hoboken.
Contact: (201) 795-0637

An intensive outpatient substance abuse and case management program for women with children who have open cases with DCP&P. Day care and transportation are provided.
Contact: 201-795-8375

The Family Assistance Centers help military service members and their families access supportive services that are available in their local community, pre-, during, or post-deployment. The centers offer clients information, referrals, and direct assistance with: obtaining identification cards, understanding and applying for TRICARE (medical and dental applications), legal resources and referral, coordination for crisis counseling, understanding military pay, financial information and resources, and community resources.
Contact: (201) 915-3589

Services for veterans including: behavioral health services such as individual, group, and family counseling; personal care and referrals; primary care such as laboratory services and assistance with prescription processing. The clinic is handicap accessible.
Contact: (201) 435-3055
Learn more about the VA New Jersey Healthcare System at https://www.newjersey.va.gov/index.asp.

Overview of military benefits for family members who serve in the National Guard (overseas or local), how to access benefits and eligibility requirements.

Subsidy program to help income eligible parents who are working full time (30 hours or more), attending school full-time (12 credits or more) or in job training (at least 20 hours a week) pay for child care.
For more information, contact Nydia Pacheco npacheco@ulohc.org or (201) 451-8888 x180

Child Care Resource & Referral Division promotes children's quality of life through parent education, community outreach activities and child care provider training. Also, assist parents in selecting quality child care and early learning programs to ensure children's early learning opportunities.

Provides free early childhood education and family services to low-income families in Bergen County, Jersey City and Paterson, NJ. Comprehensive services and resources prepare children for kindergarten, enhance their emotional and physical well-being, and foster stable family relationships. Additional free services include vision, dental and health screenings, daily breakfast, lunch and snack, diapers and formula provided in class. Parent education programs are also available, including US Citizenship classes. Speak English, Spanish and Arabic.
Contact (Jersey City): 201-884-1050

Based in Kearny, they provide services for youth and families including needs assessments, mentoring, behavioral assistance, life skills development, and rehabilitation.
Contact: 855-500-3848