HCCC Libraries: Speech: Databases for Articles

Databases for articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Our most comprehensive EBSCO database covering humanities and sciences, including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, trade publications, books, book reviews, and more.
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Presents controversial topics, with summary, overview, background, current situation, projections, charts or graphs, chronology, pro/con debate, and more.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, statistics, court cases, newspaper and magazine articles, and links to subject-indexed web sites.
Points of View This link opens in a new window
Contains many topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).
PubMed This link opens in a new window
From the National Library of Medicine/National Center for Biotechnology Information, PubMed comprises citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books, some linking to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites; MEsH Database included.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Official federal summary of statistics on the demographic, housing, social, political,
and economic condition of the United States. Published annually by the federal government since 1878.
World Geography and Culture This link opens in a new window
Combines printable maps of countries, provinces, and states with up-to-date statistical and local information.

Additional databases

Access to news articles

New York Times via Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full coverage of the New York Times from 1980 to the present.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
National and international coverage of news and current headlines.
1984-Present
NexisUni This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date news, business, and legal information, providing searches in newspapers, periodicals, public records, legal documents, and more.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. Using Google Scholar is a better solution that a simple Google search because the resources are only sources marked as scholarly. You can access Google Scholar here. Or Google "Google Scholar"!

Access from Off-Campus

HCCC students, faculty, and staff have off-campus access to our library's online resources, including online journals, books, databases, etc.

EZProxy is the tool to authenticate our library users from off-campus. It will prompt you to log in with your HCCC credentials and then grant you access to the needed resource.

Two steps to connect from off-campus:

1. Click any database link in library Databases A-Z page. For example, Academic Search Complete.

2. Log in with your HCCC credentials (the same username and password for your HCCC email and portal page).

After successful authentication, you should have access to our library resources immediately.

If you encounter any access issue, please contact us (Email: jyang@hccc.edu, lsanchez@hccc.edu, and tdmoore@hccc.edu).

Speech

Databases for articles

Additional databases

Access to news articles

Google Scholar

Access from Off-Campus

Gabert Library

NHC Library