 |
- A Guide to the Harlem Renaissance
African-American expressions of writing, music, and art during the 1920s and 1930s are well
represented in the vast collections of the Library of Congress.
- A New Civil Rights Movement
In 1950, the United States operated under an apartheid-like system of legislated white supremacy.
- Archives of African American Music and Culture
At the AAAMC, you will find materials covering a range of African American musical idioms and cultural
expressions primarily from the post-World War II era. Our collections highlight popular, religious,
and classical music, with genres ranging from blues and gospel to R&B and
contemporary hip hop. The AAAMC also houses extensive materials related to the documentation of black radio.
- African-American Odyssey
- The Library of Congress launched a five-year effort to add rare and unique items from the
Library's vast African-American collections to the National Digital Library.
- African-Americans - Biography, Autobiography and History
The Avalon Project, documents in law, history, and diplomacy, provides the writings of prominent
Black figures in history.
- African Americans in the British New World
Even before the Mayflower touched ground off Cape Cod, African Americans were living in
British North America.
- American Anti-Slavery and Civil Rights Timeline
From USHistory.org and maintained by the Independence Hall Association.
- Archives of African American Music and Culture
At the AAAMC, you will find materials covering a range of African American musical idioms and cultural
expressions primarily from the post-World War II era. Our collections highlight popular, religious,
and classical music, with genres ranging from blues and gospel to R&B and
contemporary hip hop. The AAAMC also houses extensive materials related to the documentation of black radio.
- Documenting the American South: North American Slave Narratives
From the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Library, "North American
Slave Narratives" collects books and articles that document the individual and collective story of
African Americans struggling for freedom and human rights in the eighteenth, nineteenth, and
early twentieth centuries.
- Freedom's Story
Essays from leading scholars about African American history and experiences.
- National Museum of African American History and Culture
- The National Museum of African American History and Culture is a place where all Americans
can learn about the richness and diversity of the African American experience, what it means to
their lives and how they helped shape this nation.
- National Museum of African Art
From the Smithsonian Collection, search by artist or object, browse highlighted themes or exhibitions
within the collection, or create a list to share.
- The African-American Mosaic
A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History & Culture
- This Day in Black History
- Each day, ThisDayInBlackHistory.com highlights Black icons, events, and more that have shaped the
world on that day in history.
- Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database has information on almost 36,000 voyages that
forcibly moved over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries.
|
