Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The College Libraries are now open to the HCCC community -

https://library.hccc.edu/reopening

African-American Studies

  • Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers’ Project, 1936-1938 
    Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938 contains more
    than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former
    slaves. These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project of the Works Progress Administration (WPA).
  • Burns Archive
    The African American Collection contains private and historical documentation of the African
    The American experience and includes remarkable illustrations of achievement and shocking evidence
    of intolerance.
  • A Guide to the Harlem Renaissance 
    African-American expressions of writing, music, and art during the 1920s and 1930s from the Library of Congress.
  • Harlem Renaissance 
    From the History Channel, an overview of the Harlem Renaissance.
  • Historic Images of African-American Life during the Depression 
    Time magazine has collected photos taken by the Farm Security Administration from 1935-1944,
    documenting African-American life during the Depression.
  • Through the Lens of Time 
    Images of African Americans from the Cook Collection is a digital collection of over 250 images
    of African Americans dating from the nineteenth and early twentieth century, selected from the
    George and Huestis Cook Photograph Collection at the Valentine Richmond History Center and housed at Virginia Commonwealth University.