Culinary Arts

38 Museums Devoted Entirely to Food, From the Delicious to the Disgusting

These fascinating books take us back to an America in the early decades of the 20th century covering topics on cookery, textiles, family and home, budgeting, domestic sciences, and many other delightful topics.

The Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections contains more than 3,000 rare cookery books dating from the 15th century onwards. These materials trace the evolution of recipes and home remedies, restaurants, the rise of national cuisines, food production, distribution, and marketing, nutrition, dieting, and home entertaining. Other works feature the writings of great cooks and food authors, past and present. French culinary history is especially well represented by the works of noted chefs and gourmands, such as François Pierre de La Varenne, Menon, Jean Anthelme Brillat-Savarin, Marie Antonin Carême, and Auguste Escoffier.

Housed in the Hilton library, this special collection of more than 25,000 menus includes menus from CIA restaurants, along with gifts from major menu collectors, including George Lang, Chapman S. Root, Vinnie Oakes, and Roy Andries de Groot. Assembled over decades, the collection illustrates the history of dining in America and abroad. Menus come from all 50 states and more than 80 countries, as well as from ships, railroads, and airlines.

Digest This is a weekly email newsletter featuring the most important food news from farm to fork culled from credible sources by award-winning food journalist Dave Joachim. He reads all the important food newsletters, newspapers, magazines, blogs, social media, and more, so you don’t have to.

The FoodKeeper helps you understand food and beverages storage. It will help you maximize the freshness and quality of items. By doing so you will be able to keep items fresh longer than if they were not stored properly.

the food museum exploring and celebrating food

Foodreference.com is an information website - all about food. Long articles about food, short facts and trivia, cooking tips, recipes etc.

This historic cooking web site contains thousands of links pertaining to open hearth, bake oven, wood stove and other pre WWI forms of cooking and related subjects, with more than 1,000 online historic cookbooks and about 300 museums with cooking demonstrations. Numerous categories include glossaries , period images of cooking , clothing , menus , stew stoves , recipe index , pictures, and historic measurements .

IACP is a worldwide forum for the development and exchange of information, knowledge, and inspiration within the professional food and beverage community. Now with nearly 3,000 members from more than 32 countries, IACP's greatest resource is its multi-faceted membership, which includes chefs, restaurateurs, foodservice operators, writers, photographers, stylists, marketers, nutritionists, and academia, hailing from hospitality, tourism, publishing, and many other disciplines. Many of the resources under "Connect," such as newsletters, are freely available.

The Ira Silverman Railroad Menu Collection consists of 238 items: 227 menus and eleven pamphlets. Thirty-five United States and Canadian railroads are represented in the collection. All menus were issued by their respective railroad.

Just Food provides daily, need-to-know news and insight on the global packaged-food industry. The international team of journalists and experts produces a diet of news, analysis, opinion, and interviews with top executives, focusing on the corporate strategies of branded and own-label food manufacturers. Looking at the industry through the eyes of a packaged-food manufacturer, Just Food reports on what the major events and trends in retail and foodservice mean for the suppliers in those channels. The site also explores what the emerging product, consumer, and technology trends could mean for the packaged food industry.

Food is culture. Discover why at the Museum of Food and Drink.

A food history story and recipe every weekday of the year.

Explore food culture, history, and creativity.

This collection represents menus, placemats, and other graphic materials from many of the Puget Sound area's most famous restaurants and dining facilities in the years between 1889 and 2003. Materials can be used for classroom use, student projects, personal display, or research. Formal permission is required for all other uses. Other uses include, but are not limited to, publication, broadcast, products, commercial display, websites, etc.

With approximately 45,000 menus dating from the 1840s to the present, The New York Public Library’s restaurant menu collection is one of the largest in the world, used by historians, chefs, novelists and everyday food enthusiasts.